Bamboo Forums  
     Gallery: Bamboo Flora      Gallery: Bamboo Arts & Crafts     Gallery: Bamboo Workshop Help support bamboocraft.net

Register FAQ Members List Bamboo Events Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Bamboo Forums > Bamboo Flora > Growing Bamboo
Active Topics: 7 days  30 days  60 days - must be logged in to view all posts
Growing Bamboo General discussion - Identification, selection, propagation, care

Post New Thread Reply

Old 18th October 2006, 09:15 PM
LoreleiGSD

Bamboo for a privacy fence in Arkansas

I am completely new to growing bamboo. Could someone please recomend what type of bamboo I would need for this cause.
I wish to grow some bamboo to provide a natural privacy fence. It would be a straight row aprox. 75 yard long. I would not want anything to grow over ten feet tall. I would like it to be a good wall. My neighbor likes to use binoculars to watch what goes on at my house as well as everyone elses. This would block his view from everyone.
Any advice on types of bamboo would be appreciated. As far as my nieghbor....oh well.

Lorelei
Old 19th October 2006, 05:33 AM
Mark Meckes

Hi Lorelei,
A couple questions ...
What is the average minimum winter temperature in your area?
Is the area to be planted in full sun, part or full shade?

The first issue is ... clumping or running bamboo?
I don't know of any clumping bamboos adaptable to Arkansas that would be able to grow into a tall screen as you would like.

The advantage of a running bamboo is that it would take less time to fill in the 75 ft area and provide you with the screen.
The downside is that you would either need to install a rhizome barrier, root prune the edge of the planting annually to keep it in check, or give it more room to grow.
So, some question are ...
How wide do you want this hedgerow to grow?
Do you want it right next to the edge of your property?