Bamboo Forums  
     Gallery: Bamboo Flora      Gallery: Bamboo Arts & Crafts     Gallery: Bamboo Workshop Help support bamboocraft.net

Register FAQ Members List Bamboo Events Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Bamboo Forums > Bamboo Flora > Growing Bamboo
Active Topics: 7 days  30 days  60 days - must be logged in to view all posts
Growing Bamboo General discussion - Identification, selection, propagation, care

Post New Thread Reply

Old 26th September 2006, 02:53 PM
ladyfromwyo

Caring for a Buddha's Belly Bamboo - B. t. 'Ventricosa'

Hi Mark
I am new to Texas and found some Buda Belly bamboo on the property. How can I thin it? Can I put small shoots in water to root?? Never been to this type of planting from this part of the world so totally lost. lol ANy help would be appreciated. By the way the main plant is like 25 foot tall with many smaller shoots. Willing to share.
Thx Tamy
Old 27th September 2006, 03:42 PM
Mark Meckes

How large is your patch of this bamboo? How wide is the clump at the base?
Has it grown into a large specimen plant., is there room enough for it to grow?
Are there dead / tan colored culms in the center?
Does it appear to have been maintained during it's life?
At ground level, are there signs of cut-off culm bases from previous years?

If you can take any pics, you can upload them in your post.

Bambusa tuldoides 'Ventricosa' Photos at BambooFlora
aka Buddha's Belly Bamboo or Buda Belly bamboo if you like ...

This bamboo can grow into a very large wide spreading clump if the conditions are favorable, and it's widely arching culms command a great deal of air space, making it a prominent feature in the landscape. A wild overgrown planting can grow into a tangled mass of live and dead culms, and the old growth can be quite a chore to remove. So it's best to maintain this plant on a regular/annual schedule.

Some maintenance steps ...
- Remove dead poles or older culms that have reached maturity.